AIM recognise independent talent as Independent Music Awards return

News: 8th March 2012 by Louise Dodgson under Artist Managers, Creative & Branding, Finance, Law & Music Business, Live, Media, Music Publishing, Record Labels, Recording & Production, Selling & Distributing Your Music

Following the huge success of their inaugural awards, the Association of Independent Music (AIM) are very pleased to announced that the AIM Independent Music Awards will return once again in 2012, casting a spotlight on the plethora of talent in the independent sector. Doubling in size in direct response to the overwhelming interest in 2011’s event, the AIM Awards will be held on October 29th 2012 at their new venue, The Brewery in Clerkenwell.
Chairman and CEO of AIM, Alison Wenham commented: "The first AIM Awards (2011) was a fantastic event for the artists and companies whose hard work was finally recognised by their peers. We hope that as the awards show grows in size and stature, the wider industry will take note of the unique contribution the indie sector makes to the quality and diversity of the British Music Industry."   
Toasting the variety and creativity of the artists and labels that AIM has supported since its inception in 1999, the ceremony will see the return of renowned champions of credible music, BBC 6Music’s Steve Lamacq and BBC Radio 1’s Huw Stephens as hosts. 15 awards will be presented, including Independent Breakthrough of the Year, Best Small Label, Best Live Act and Outstanding Contribution to Music, previously bestowed on the mighty Bjork.
BBC 6 Music’s Steve Lamacq commented: “I'm delighted to be co-hosting the awards again after its inception last year. It really was a bit special being in a room with so many influential independent label bosses, including people like Martin Mills and Geoff Travis who put out so many of the records I bought as a teenager. What last year proved is that the AIM Awards does a variety of things. It raises the profile of the indie sector - but it's also very valuable in bringing indie label heads together for a night to swap advice and discuss the future. And on top of that it's terrific to mark some of the achievements of the musicians and labels who've excelled in their field."
BBC Radio 1’s Huw Stephens added: “The AIM Awards were a celebration of the thriving independent music scene, a huge and energetic group of people and music that deserve to get recognition for their hard work. Myself and Steve had a blast on the night and in the lead up to the event too, where the creativity really gets put under the spotlight.”
Recognising the accomplishments of a sector that is routinely overlooked by other major music awards, the AIM Awards celebrates a community of artists and entrepreneurs that will always do things their own way, making phenomenal music in every genre and pushing forward new business models and innovations.  Bucking the overall industry downturn, independent sales were up in 2011 (even without the phenomenal success of Adele), proving that public interest in great music is as strong as it’s ever been.
The awards are voted for by an expert panel of judges from across the music industry which this year will include DJ Ras Kwame, Rocksound’s Ben Patashnik, The Quietus’ Luke Turner and Glastonbury Dance Village’s Malcolm Haynes. These judges have been added to the panel to ensure more specialist music genres are well-represented in the nominees and winners - so that the AIM Awards fully represent the breadth and diversity of independent music in the UK. The full list of judges for the AIM Awards 2012 is:
Sean Adams, Founder, DrownedInSound 
Elisa Bray, Music Editor, The Independent 
Nick DeCosemo, Editor, Mixmag 
JJ Dunning, Editor, The Fly 
Arwa Haider, Music Editor, Metro 
Tim Jonze, Music Editor, 
John Kennedy, Presenter, XFM 
Ras Kwame, DJ
Steve Lamacq, DJ, BBC 6 Music
Laura Lukanz, Music Manager, 1Xtra
Matt Wilkinson, New Music Editor, NME
Pete Paphides, Music Journalist & Broadcaster 
Ben Patashnik, Editor, Rock Sound 
Katie Parsons, New Music Editor, Kerrang! 
Tom Robinson, Songwriter & Broadcaster, BBC 6Music 
Huw Stephens, DJ, BBC Radio 1 
Paul Stokes, Associate Editor (Digital), Q 
Luke Turner, Associate Editor, The Quietus
Malcolm Haynes, Senior Programmer, Glastonbury Dance Village
Winners at the inaugural AIM Awards included; Adele for Best 'Difficult' Second Album and the PPL Award for Most Played Independent Act, Bjork who received the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award, SBTRKT for Independent Breakthrough of the Year, Stolen Recordings for Best Small Label and Domino’s Laurence Bell who received the Pioneer Award. A Full list of winners is available at the website below.
Tickets and sponsorship packages for the awards are available now via the AIM website below.

Related Links


independent music awards, aim, association of independent music, music business, music industry, independent record labels


Your Comments

The Unsigned Guide Spotlight: June 2024
The Unsigned Guide Spotlight: May 2024
The Unsigned Guide Spotlight: April 2024
Music Managers… what ARE they looking for?
Your Ultimate Guide to Music Branding as a Musician
The Unsigned Guide Spotlight: March 2024