Latest

Musicians & Music Professionals Guide: Everything you need to know about COVID-19 support

Blog by Stef Loukes under Artist Managers, Creative & Branding, Finance, Law & Music Business, Live, Media, Music Publishing, Music Training & Careers, Record Labels, Recording & Production, Selling & Distributing Your Music

We’ve gathered together some information from UK music industry organisations, and beyond, to offer guidance to musicians and music professionals in these uncertain times. We’ll keep this page current with any updated links or new info with regards to general advice for musicians, details of emergency funding made available, and mental health support, so please check back.


General support & advice

Musicians’ Union - https://www.musiciansunion.org.uk/coronavirus

Help Musicians - http://www.coronamusicians.info

Incorporated Society of Musicians (ISM) - https://www.ism.org/advice-centre/coronavirus-listing

UK Music - https://www.ukmusic.org/covid-19

Music Managers Forum (MMF) - https://themmf.net/2020/03/10/coronavirus-updated-information

Association of Independent Music (AIM) - https://www.aim.org.uk/#/resources/covid-19-coronavirus---aim-member-faq

British Phonographic Industry (BPI) - https://www.bpi.co.uk/coronavirus-information-hub

Music Producers Guild - https://mpg.org.uk/news/covid-19-coronavirus-update

Music Venue Trust - http://musicvenuetrust.com

Citizens Advice Bureau - https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/health/coronavirus-what-it-means-for-you

Creative England - https://www.creativeengland.co.uk/covid-19-guidance

Resident Advisor - https://www.residentadvisor.net/news/72273

Xpo North - https://xponorth.co.uk/resources/covid-19-coronavirus-resources

Freelance Toolkit app for Covid-19 - https://creativefreelancec19.glideapp.io


Regional advice/resources

Arts Council Northern Ireland - http://artscouncil-ni.org/news/coronavirus-covid-19-advice

Creative Scotland - https://www.creativescotland.com/what-we-do/latest-news/archive/2020/02/coronavirus-advice

Scottish Music Industry Association - https://www.smia.org.uk/coronavirus

Scottish Music Centre - https://www.smc-covid19.com

Tipping Point's North East Music Industry COVID-19 Support & Resources Facebook group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/2919270561465443

Music: Leeds - https://www.musicleeds.com/covid19resources

Focus Wales - http://www.focuswales.com/music-help


Emergency funding

PRS For Music Emergency Relief Fund - https://www.prsformusic.com/press/2020/prs-for-music-launches-membership--emergency-relief-fund

PRS Foundation's Sustaining Creativity Fund - https://prsfoundation.com/funding-support/funding-music-creators/all-career-levels/sustaining-creativity-fund

Help Musicians’ Coronavirus Financial Hardship Fund - https://www.helpmusicians.org.uk/news/latest-news/help-musicians-launches-5m-coronavirus-financial-hardship-fu

Help Musicians’ Coronavirus Financial Hardship Fund Phase 2 - https://www.helpmusicians.org.uk/news/latest-news/applications-now-open-for-phase-2-of-help-musicians-financia

Help Musicians Do It Differently Fund - https://www.helpmusicians.org.uk/creative-programme/current-opportunities/do-it-differently-fund-covid-19-round

Arts Council emergency funding - https://www.artscouncil.org.uk/covid19

Musicians’ Union Hardship Fund - https://www.musiciansunion.org.uk/hardshipfund

Youth Music Emergency Fund - https://network.youthmusic.org.uk/youth-music-launches-emergency-fund

AIM Crisis Fund for Independent Music Contractors - https://www.aim.org.uk/#/news/aim-launches-1m-immediate-access-crisis-fund-for-independent-music-contractors

Creative Scotland Bridging Bursary Fund & Sustaining Creative Development Fund - https://www.creativescotland.com/what-we-do/latest-news/archive/2020/03/covid-19-impact-funds

Arts Council Wales Resilience Fund - https://arts.wales/news-jobs-opportunities/arts-council-wales-announces-resilience-fund-for-arts-wales

Irish Music Industry Covid-19 Emergency Relief Fund - https://www.firstmusiccontact.com/covid19-relief-fund

Leeds Inspired Grants - https://www.leedsinspired.co.uk/grants

HM Government Business Support - https://www.gov.uk/coronavirus/business-support

HM Government Small Business Bounce Bank Loans - https://www.gov.uk/government/news/new-bounce-back-loans-to-launch-today


Funds to donate to


Spotify COVID-19 Music Relief - https://artists.spotify.com/blog/spotify-covid-19-music-relief

Live Nation’s Crew Nation Fund - https://www.livenationentertainment.com/crewnation

Grassroots Music Venue Crisis Fund - http://musicvenuetrust.com/2020/03/grassroots-music-venues-in-crisis-music-venue-trust-call-to-action



Mental health support

Musicians’ Union Mental Health Support - https://www.musiciansunion.org.uk/Home/News/2020/Mar/Mental-Health-Support-for-Musicians

Music Minds Matter - https://www.musicmindsmatter.org.uk

Music Support - https://www.musicsupport.org

Public Health England - https://bit.ly/2Uw2kCq

Mind - https://www.mind.org.uk

The Samaritans - https://www.samaritans.org

CALM (Campaign Against Living Miserably) - https://www.thecalmzone.net

Music Industry Therapists - http://musicindustrytherapists.co


Tags

Information for bands and musicians on COVID-19 support and funding

 

Your Comments

Exciting emerging Scottish talent wanted to play at Off The Record 2024
Busk in London is open to applications from performers
Apply to play FOCUS Wales 2025
Closing soon! Featured Artists Coalition unveils their Step Up Fund
Applications to Casio Sessions 2024 are now open to UK-based, piano-playing singer-songwriters
Unsigned Collection returns for Volume 2 & wants to hear from London and Kent based musicians